Downtown

True love is setting you free to fuck up and just so you know I can wait long enough for you to learn to perspire when we grab each other in dark bars downtown overshadowed by chandeliers. We admire the tenacity we each display in rejection and coming back for beatings with candlelight spirits under our chins each Tuesday. So tell me tomorrow how one day we’ll work out and I’ll agree once I change my middle name from corruption to correlation. Sweet like an overpriced shattered glass in my hand, so just lay here with me in preparedness. We will outskirt our fates soon.

From the collection “Ladykilled and Manhandled”

Leave a Reply

