Shark

Cover my eyes. My gut instinct is the same in my dreams but the desire to form a more tangible wall between us than the one forming in the psychic sense is combated by your body. Heavy heavy weight pressing on my legs, my hips, my struggle to erect. Cover my mouth. These aren’t the things you admit out loud especially inside this habitat, this tank, glass walls surround us in water we cannot drink. I want to suffocate inside myself, chum for the kill. Was I diving for a reason, they will ask, if I was so blind I did not see your path before I was swallowed in the tide. No remains to wash on shore, I am hidden, just a pit in your stomach. Comfort yourself, at least it was over quickly.

From the collection “Animal”

Leave a Reply

