One one now two.

Do you think of that first moment with a kiss like elixir, the lights turned low like they know that steady isn’t best on feet like drum skins? Through the thick and thin we ignore reparations as if they were persuasively jaded to formulate the outline of my hands on the side of your face that night in your bed. Would you pay to forget that we weren’t always trees with branches overlapping and entwined, once we were war horses shouldering men to battle over lovers. I still can feel the warm of your skin and the fire in my stomach on a cool summer night if I shut my eyes tightly enough and you are not holding my hand for one instant, one second, halves into a whole, one one now two.

Leave a Reply

