2015

1. I set your room on fire 

and rolled around in the mourning ash,

laughing

like a mad girl

writing a love song,

singing a freedom chorus. 

No recollection would be complete

without a nail in my hand

that has your name on it

pinning me to the prayer of 

thank god and goddess and spirit and the like

that you gave me a fire once

to set you ablaze. 

2. Deep breaths are calming

free from your smoke. 

3. Mountain air,

CO2 and lack of conspiracy,

a long hike with no underbrush 

because that is the first to burn. 

I thought you were a tree but you’re just rot,

you wanted to be irreplaceable and I knew you were not. 

Immolate. 

Leave a Reply

